
South Carolina's  

 
Homestead Tax Exemption Program  

 

 

General Information  

In 1972, the General Assembly passed the Homestead Exemption Law, which provided property 
tax relief for South Carolinians age sixty-five, the blind, or disabled.  

Since that time, the Comptroller General's Office has reimbursed over 545 million dollars for 
property tax relief through this worthy program.  
   

Example without 
Homestead:   With Homestead:  

Value of Home 62,500  Value of Home 62,500
Multiplied by 4% = 2,500  Less Homestead Exemption  - 50,000
Multiplied by millage x .1949  "New" Value of Home 12,500
Total Taxes = $487.25  Multiplied by 4% = 500
    Multiplied by millage x .1949
    Total Taxes = $97.45

Please note: This guide is provided as a general information tool and does not attempt to cover 
the entire Homestead Exemption law. Your County Auditor and The Comptroller General's 
Office will be happy to assist you with further questions  

 
 
   



Do I Qualify?  

1. I hold complete fee simple title or life estate to my primary residence. 
2. As of December 31 preceding the tax year of the exemption, I  

• was 65 years or age; OR  
• certified totally and permanently disabled by a state or federal agency having the 

authority to make such a declaration; OR  
• was legally blind as certified by a licensed ophthalmologist registered with the South 

Carolina Commission for the Blind; OR  
• at least 50 years of age when your spouse who was eligible for the Homestead Exemption 

died; AND  
• a legal resident of South Carolina for at least one year on or before December 31 of the 

year prior to the exemption. 

 
 
   
Where do I apply?  
You must apply for the Homestead Exemption at your County Auditor's office. If you are unable 
to go to the Auditor's office, you may authorize someone to apply for you. Contact the County 
Auditor’s Office for details.  

 
 
   
What documents do I need?  
You will need to provide proof of your eligibility. If you are applying due to age, bring your 
birth certificate, Medicaid card, Medicare card, or driver's license.  
If you are applying due to disability bring certification from a state or federal agency. This 
agency must have the proper authority to make this certification.  
If you are applying due to blindness bring certification from an ophthalmologist registered with 
the South Carolina Commission for the Blind. 

 
 
   
Do I need to re-apply annually?  
No. Unless any of the following changes occur:  

• Death of the eligible owner, or in case of joint ownership, death of spouse  
• Change in a deed or the filing and recording of a new deed  
• Rental of your home 
• Change in place of residence 
• Remarriage of surviving spouse 
• Change in disability status 

 



 
 
 The Homestead Exemption Program is administered at the State level by the Comptroller 
General.  
South Carolina Comptroller General  
Local Government Division  
Post Office Box 11228  
Columbia, South Carolina 29211  
Telephone: (803) 734-2527 
e-mail: cgoffice@cg.state.sc.us 
 
ASSISTANCE 
The South Carolina Joint Legislative Committee on Aging assists the senior community with 
problems and introduces legislation to correct inequities in the law.  
Joint Legislative Committee on Aging  
Post Office Box 11867  
Columbia, South Carolina 29211  
Telephone: (803) 734-2995  
In addition to the Homestead Exemption Program, there are other services and programs 
available to qualified individuals. To find out more, contact:  
Department of Health and Human Services  
Office of Aging  
Post Office Box 8206  
Columbia, South Carolina 29202  
Telephone: (803) 253-6100  
 

 
 


