
Aiken County 
Office of the Assessor 

1930 University Parkway, Suite 2400 
Aiken, SC 29801 

(803) 642-1583 www.aikencountysc.gov 

HOW TO CALCULATE ROLLBACK 
What is Rollback Tax? 

 When agricultural real property is applied to a use other than agricultural, it becomes subject to additional
taxes, referred to as “rollback taxes”. The rollback taxes could apply to the parcel as a whole or a portion of the
parcel.

How is the Rollback calculated? 

 In the year the use changes, the difference between the amount of tax paid under the agricultural use
classification and the amount that would have been paid under full market value is the amount of additional tax.
This calculation is then done as needed for up to the previous five years.

 Calculation of Rollback taxes 

 For example: out of a 10 acre tract, 2 acres are sold. The market value for the 10 acres is $20,000 and the
agricultural value is $3,120.

 $20,000/10= $2,000 X 2 acre = $4,000 X 6% = 240 X .2372 = $56.93

 $3,120/10= $312 X 2 acre = $624 X 4% = 30 X .2372 = $7.12  (round to nearest tenth)

 $56.93-$7.12 = $49.81 Rollback tax

 Rollback tax can go back 5 years. Each year’s tax is based upon the year’s appraisal and millage rate.

Year Millage Rate 6% Millage Rate 4% 
2007 0.2296 0.1038 
2008 0.2349 0.1039 
2009 0.2392 0.1017 
2010 0.2357 0.0982 
2011 0.233 0.1014 
2012 0.2372 0.1014 
2013 0.2405 0.0989 
2014 
2015 
2016 
2017 
2018 
2019 
2020 

References: South Carolina Code of Laws Section 12-43-220(d) and South Carolina Department of Revenue Regulation 117-1780.3 
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