
 

 

 

      

        EXPUNGEMENT  APPLICATION 

               THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
                OFFICE OF THE SOLICITOR, SECOND JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 

                  Serving Aiken, Bamberg, and Barnwell Counties 
               J. Strom Thurmond, Jr., Solicitor 
 

                Please read completely before you make application: 
 
Under South Carolina Law there are certain criminal charges that may be removed from your criminal records. They 
are as follows: 
 
Charges dismissed after successful completion of the Pretrial Intervention (PTI), the Alcohol Education 

(AEP) or the Traffic Education (TEP) Program. §17-22-150(a), §17-22-330(a), §17-530(a) 
Do NOT complete this Expungement Application. 

 
CONTACT CASE MANAGER FOR EXPUNGEMENT Dina Moseley (803-642-1557 OPT.1). 

 
 

1. Dismissed, no-billed or nol prossed (not prosecuted) charges, and not guilty verdicts. §17-1-40  
 Dismissed, no-billed, or nol prossed (not prosecuted) charges, and not guilty verdicts may be expunged 

immediately after the disposition is filed with the clerk of court’s office or the judge’s office. If you are 
seeking an expungement of a non-conviction in General Session Court, you need to contact 
Expungement Services at the Solicitor Office in that jurisdiction. 

 If you are seeking an expungement of a non-conviction in Magistrate or Municipal Court after June 2, 
2010 you need to contact the staff in that court. 
 

2. Fraudulent Check – First Offense misdemeanor conviction. §34-11-90(e) 
 A first offense misdemeanor conviction for Fraudulent Check may be expunged after one (1) year, but you 

CANNOT have any additional convictions, except minor traffic-related offense that is not related in any 
way to driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs, within one (1) year from the date 
of conviction. This includes having no convictions out of state. 
 

3. Conditional Discharge – First Offense conviction. §44-53-450(b) 
 For a first offense Conditional Discharge conviction under Sections 44-53-370(c), (d) and 44-53-375(a), 

following successful completion of all of the requirements of the conditional discharge, you may apply 
for an expungement.  The person cannot previously have been convicted of any offense under this article 
or any offense under any state or federal statute relating to marijuana, or stimulant, depressant, or 
hallucinogenic drugs. 
 

4. Conviction of a Crime which carries a maximum penalty of up to 30 days and/or a fine of up to $1,000  
§22-5-910, (includes DV 3rd and CDV) 
 Conviction for a crime which carries a maximum penalty of up to 30 days and/ $1,000 fine, you may 

apply for an expungement after three (3) years from the date of the conviction, but you CANNOT have 
any additional convictions, except minor traffic-related offense that is not related in any way to driving 
under the influence of alcohol or other drugs, within three (3) years from the date of the conviction.   

 However, this section does not apply to an offense involving the operation of a motor vehicle. 
 Following a conviction for Domestic Violence in the Third Degree pursuant to Section 16-25-20(D) of 

the Code of Laws of South Carolina (1976, as amended), or Criminal Domestic Violent under the old 



law (prior to June 4, 2015), you may apply for an expungement after five (5) years from the date of the 
conviction, but you CANNOT have any additional convictions, except minor traffic-related offense that 
is not related in any way to driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs, within five (5) years 
from the date of the conviction.  Defendant cannot have any pending charges at time of expungement. 

 
5. Youthful Offender Act (YOA). §22-5-920.  

 Following a first offense conviction as a youthful offender for which a defendant is sentenced pursuant 
to the provisions of Youthful Offender Act, the defendant, who has not been convicted of any 
offense, including an out-of-state offense, while serving the youthful offender sentence, including 
probation and parole, and for a period of five years from the date of completion of the defendant’s 
sentence, including probation and parole, may apply for an expungement.  Also, a person who was 
convicted prior to June 2, 2010, and was a youthful offender, as defined, is eligible to apply to have 
his record expunged pursuant to the provisions of this section. 

 However, this section does not apply to: (a) an offense involving the operation of a motor vehicle; (b) 
an offense classified as a violent crime in Section 16-1-60; (c) an offense contained in Chapter 25, 
Title 16, except as otherwise provided in Section 16-25-30; or (d) an offense for which the individual 
is required to register in accordance with the South Carolina Sex Offender Registry Act. 
 

6. First Offense Simple Possession Controlled Substance OR Possession with Intent to Distribute  
§22-5-930 

 Following a first offense conviction for either simple possession of a controlled substance or unlawful 
possession of a prescription drug, the defendant may apply to get his record expunged (cannot have a 
conditional discharge within 10 years prior to this date of arrest, 5 years for SPMJ). If the defendant 
has had no other convictions, to include out-of-state convictions, within three (3) years after the date 
of completion of the sentence the circuit court may issue an order expunging the records. 

OR 
 Following a first offense conviction for possession with intent to distribute a controlled substance, the 

defendant after twenty years from the date of the completion of any sentence, including probation 
and parole, for a drug conviction or any felony conviction may apply, to the circuit court for an order 
expunging the records of the arrest and conviction. 
 

7. Failure to Stop Motor Vehicle – First Offense. §56-5-750(f) 
 Following a first offense misdemeanor conviction for Failure to Stop Motor Vehicle, after three (3) 

years from the date of completion of your sentence, you may apply for expungement, but you 
CANNOT have any additional convictions, except minor traffic-related offense that is not related in 
any way to driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs, within three (3) years after the date 
of completion of the sentence. 
 

8. Completion of SC Youth Challenge Academy AND SC Jobs Challenge Program §17-22-1010 
 A person who is eligible for expungement of his criminal record pursuant to the provisions of 

Sections 22-5-910, 22-5-920, 34-11-90(e), and 56-5-750(F) may apply to have his record expunged 
under this statute if he graduates and successfully completes the South Carolina Youth Challenge 
Academy and the South Carolina Jobs Challenge Program administered by the South Carolina Army 
National Guard. Such person may apply for expungement immediately upon graduation and 
successful completion of the South Carolina Youth Challenge Academy and the South Carolina Jobs 
Challenge Program 

  



EXPUNGEMENT APPLICATION 
 
1. The applicant will apply to the solicitor in the circuit in which the offense(s) was committed. 
 
2. The applicant must pay the following amounts to the Solicitor’s office in the form of separate certified checks or 
money orders if applicable: 
 

 A non-refundable application fee of $250.00 made payable to the Office of the Solicitor. 
 

 A non-refundable SLED fee of $25.00 made payable to SLED 
 

 A filing fee of $35.00 made payable to the county clerk of court. 
 

 
THE PROCESS: 
 
1. The solicitor will send the application and the $25.00 money order (when applicable) to SLED in order to verify that 
the offense is eligible for expungement, as provided by the South Carolina Code of Laws. 
 
2. SLED will return the application to the solicitor and indicate if the offense(s) is eligible or ineligible for expungement. 
 
3. If SLED denies the application, the process ends and the Solicitor notifies applicant of denial and returns to the 
applicant the $35.00 money order made payable to the County Clerk of Court. 
 
4. If SLED determines the offense is eligible for expungement, it is mailed back to the solicitor to continue with the 
process. 
 
5. The order is then mailed to the summary court judge that originally heard the case. (Applicable to magistrate/municipal 
charges under Section 22-5-910 or 44-53-450(b)). He/she returns the application to the Solicitor’s Office with their 
signatures. 
 
6. If the offense is determined ineligible by the Solicitor, notation is made on the application and returned to the applicant 
with the $35.00 money order made payable to the County Clerk of Court and the process ends. 
 
7. If the Solicitor determines the offense to be eligible for expungement, it will be signed and given to the circuit court 
judge for his confirmation. 
8. If the circuit court judge approves the application, he/she will return the signed order to the solicitor. 
 
9. The solicitor will file the signed order and seven (7) copies of the order with the County Clerk of Court along with the 
$35.00 filing fee (when applicable). 
 
10. The solicitor will provide certified copies of the expungement order to all pertinent governmental agencies as well as 
the applicant or the applicant’s attorney. 
 
 

PLEASE NOTE:  ANY INFORMATION OBTAINED BY A THIRD PARTY VENDOR ON THE 
INTERNET CANNOT BE EXPUNGED BY THIS OFFICE. 

 
Please note:  The following exceptions cannot be expunged: 

 
a. Wildlife and game convictions 
b. Traffic offense convictions 
c.   General Sessions convictions (exceptions: Section 22-5-920 and Section 56-5-750(f) below) 
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Name:       ___    Race:                  Sex:            
 
Date of Birth:  ___ SSN:        
 
Mailing Address:       _____________ ______ 
 
Telephone:              
 
Charge requesting to be expunged:          
 
              
 
I UNDERSTAND THE FOLLOWING: 

 An application does not guarantee I will have the charge removed from my criminal record; it is only 
upon the combined consent of the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED), the Solicitor, the 
Summary Court Judge and the Circuit Court Judge that this order will be granted. 

 The processing fee to the Office of the Solicitor and to SLED is non-refundable regardless of the 
decision to consent or decline my application. 

 All paperwork will be destroyed after 90 days from date of application should I decide not to pay fees 
associated with the expungement process. 

 
 
              
Defendant signature       Date 
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Statutes from the 
Code of Laws of 
South Carolina  

 
Disposition 

 
Solicitor’s Office 

 
SLED 

 
Clerk of 
Court 

Section 17-1-40 
Dismissed, Nol Prossed (not 
prosecuted), or Not Guilty 

Verdicts 

NONE 
*Unless dismissal is part of 
plea agreement; then $250 

NONE NONE 

Section 34-11-90(e) 
Fraudulent Check – First Offense 

Misdemeanor conviction 
$250 $25 $35 

Section 44-53-450(b) 
Conditional Discharge – 
First Offense conviction 

$250 NONE $35 

Section 22-5-910 
Misdemeanor which carries up to 
30 days and/or up to $1000 fine – 

includes DV 3rd and CDV 
$250 $25 $35 

Section 22-5-920 
Youthful Offender Act – 
First Offense conviction 

$250 $25 $35 

Section 22-5-930 

First Offense Simple Possession 
Controlled Substance OR 
Possession with Intent to 

Distribute 

$250 $25 $35 

Section 56-5-750(f) 
Failure to Stop Motor Vehicle – 

First Offense conviction 
$250 $25 $35 

Section 17-22-1010 
SC Youth Challenge and SC Jobs 
Challenge Program Completion 

$250 $25 $35 

Section 63-19-2050 
Destruction of Juvenile Record- 

includes Arbitration and DJJ 
Contract completion 

$250 $25 $35 
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