Marriage Licenses

Please read our altered procedures. Click Here

Marriage Licenses can be obtained from the Aiken County Probate Court.

To obtain a marriage license, both applicants must appear together before the Court prior to a Marriage License being issued. Licenses are issued between the hours of 8:30 a.m. until 5:00p.m. Monday thru Friday, excluding holidays.

From the time of filing of the application a mandatory 24-hour waiting period is required by law. A blood test is not required in the State of South Carolina.

The Aiken County Probate Court does not perform marriage ceremonies.


Required Identification:

  1. You must have a picture ID, a valid Driver's License or a valid Identification Card;
  2. Applicants must bring Divorce Decree if either party is divorced.
  3. If applicant(s) is not a United States citizen, a valid passport or a valid VISA/green card is acceptable.
  4. The application fee for a marriage license is $45. We do not make change. We do accept MasterCard or Visa but do not accept checks.

Marriage Application Form

Minor Applicants must be at least 16 years of age and must have parental consent and present a certified copy of minor's birth certificate (long form). Legal guardians of minor(s) must provide documentation reflecting guardianship/custody and three (3) types of identification must be presented.

The application fee for a marriage license is $45.00, payable in cash in the correct amount. We do accept MasterCard or Visa but do not accept checks.

Copies of Marriage Licenses issued in South Carolina prior to 1950 if available may be obtained in Aiken County for $5.00 per copy. If not available in Aiken County then you may contact SC DHEC.
SC DHEC Marriage License Copy request form.

Government Center, 1930 University Pkwy | Aiken, SC 29801 Aiken County Government | © 2022