Emergency Services

York Street Annex

621 York Street 

Aiken, SC 29801

  803.642.1624 |   803.642.1629

The Emergency Services Department is dedicated to protecting the lives and property of the citizens of Aiken County. This goal is met by the dedicated work of personnel divided into four divisions: Administrative, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency Management and Fire Team. While the work differs, the divisions complement each other to provide a valuable service to our citizens.

ADMINISTRATIVE: Division is responsible for handling and maintaining the department's infection control program, department's safety and workers comp program, coordinates public awareness programs and public information for the department. Coordinates, plans and organizes all activities and personnel, and staff is responsible for providing clerical support to the other divisions, to include records management and data entry of EMS calls, MSDS forms and Tier II reports as received from the industries in Aiken County.

EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT: Plans, responds and when possible mitigates all types of potential crises on the local level. Prepares for natural hazards such as tornados, hurricanes, floods, and severe weather, as well as technological hazards such as hazardous material releases and incidents with SRS and Georgia Power. Responsible for coordinating efforts and the operation of the County's Spill Response Team.

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES: Provides high quality pre-hospital medical care to the citizens of Aiken County on demand. Operates a fleet of ambulances and rescue vehicles to provide the best care possible, using a staff dedicated and certified full-time and part-time employees. Emergency Medical Services responds, on average, to 19,000 calls per year. The division offers continuing education and public awareness to ensure the most current information related to this field is available.

SAGE MILL FIRE SERVICE: Responsible for the operation of the County's fire protection services at the Sage Mill Station. This division responds to calls for emergency assistance in accordance with established procedures, and maintains team standards of readiness.

HAZMAT: Responsible for handling hazardous material incidents such as chemical emergencies which range from diesel spills to toxic gases. Division consist of approximately 35 volunteers as well as staff members, who are dedicated to providing these services to the citizens of Aiken County. This division requires constant training, meetings and updates as relates to hazardous materials.

Please help us to improve our services by completing the:

Government Center, 1930 University Pkwy | Aiken, SC 29801 Aiken County Government | © 2020