Maps, history, demographics, municipalities, and more about Aiken County Find the service or function that you need in our list of services listed alphabetically and by category, and a list of current electronic services. Recreation, roads, taxes, & much more for our residents. Job openings, bid opportunities for vendors, and economic development. Tourism info, including museums, accommodations, calendar of events, and much more. County Departments and Agencies, and links to other local and state government resources. How to contact County officials by phone, mail, email, or visit.
Marriage Licenses
     
Office Links
Services
Location
Related Links
 
Marriage Licenses
Room E126
109 Park Avenue SE
Aiken, SC 29801
area code 803
642-2009
probatecourt@aikencountysc.gov
 
Location: Judicial Center (Courthouse)
Normal Hours: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM Monday-Friday, excluding holidays.

To obtain a marriage license, both applicants must appear together before the Court prior to a Marriage License being issued. Licenses are issued between the hours of 8:30 a.m. until 5:00p.m. Monday thru Friday, excluding holidays.

From the time of filing of the application a mandatory 24-hour waiting period is required by law. A blood test is not required in the State of South Carolina.

The Aiken County Probate Court does not perform marriage ceremonies.


INFORMATION REQUIRED FOR APPLYING FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE IN THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

Required Identification:

  1. You must have a picture ID, a Driver's License or an Identification Card;
    and
  2. Social Security Card or an original legal document reflecting Applicant's Social Security number and name;
    and
  3. If bride is divorced and had maiden name restored in Divorce Decree, she must bring a copy of recorded Divorce Decree.
  4. If applicant(s) is not a United States citizen, a valid passport or a valid VISA/green card is acceptable.

Marriage Application Form

Minor Applicants must be at least 16 years of age and must have parental consent and present a certified copy of minor's birth certificate (long form). Legal guardians of minor(s) must provide documentation reflecting guardianship/custody and three (3) types of identification must be presented.

The application fee for a marriage license is $45.00, payable in cash. WE DO NOT ACCEPT CHECKS.

 
Copies of Marriage Licenses issued in South Carolina after 1950 are available from SC DHEC.
Marriage License Copy request form.
 
Government Web Policy Accessibility Policy Go to Contact go to top of page
footmap